Keep up to date with everything IiB, sign up to our mailing list

Thank you for signing up to our mailing list.

Please fill out all required fields

First Name

Last Name


Institute of Irish Studies

Visit website


Dorothy Lynch


0151 794 2393



Institute of Irish Studies School of Histories, Languages & Cultures, 1 Abercromby Square, University of Liverpool, L69 7WY

Established in 1988, the Institute of Irish Studies is a world authority on Ireland. Our research interests range from ancient times to the modern day and span a broad range of subjects, from history to literature, politics to language.

At the Institute we are dedicated to academic excellence and ensure we develop the understanding and insights that make this knowledge relevant and valuable in the world today.

The Irish government recognised our international standing in 2007 with a £multimillion endowment to fund the Tony Blair Chair in Irish Studies.

This additional funding has enabled us to extend the scope of our teaching and research and expand our undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes.

This has included the creation of an MA in Understanding Conflict which is partly taught by one of the BBC’s leading correspondents, Fergal Keane, who is renowned for his reporting on conflict and war zones around the world.

Led by internationally acclaimed Irish historian, Professor Marianne Elliott, our academic team is highly rated for its teaching and research.

Students and staff enjoy a stimulating and supportive academic environment that fosters collaboration and inspires original thinking. The Institute has a superb Irish Studies library housing many rare books, political papers and periodicals.

We teach a wide–ranging undergraduate programme and two MA programmes: the MA in Understanding Conflict and the MA in Irish Studies. Over 30 doctoral students from around the world are pursuing their PhD studies in the Institute and contributing to our research profile.

We also attract high profile guest speakers. These have included three Irish presidents.